17 March 2020

In recognition of the difficulty faced by our membership in the face of the spread of Covid-19, we have decided to make submissions free for AIM Members this year.


Submissions are now open for many of this year’s categories including Best Live Act, Best Independent Video and Best Independent Album. For the first time ever, this year will also include the Best Independent Remix category in recognition of AIM’s electronic and dance members.

Submissions can be made on this site where tickets for the Awards and Live Gig and After Party are also on sale.

The deadline for submissions is 11:59pm on Monday April 20th. 

To make a free submission, please head here to log in as a member and follow these steps:
1. Click ‘Register’
2. Click ‘Yes, I am a member’
3. Enter your member ID. If you are unsure of your member ID, please log into AIMs website to access it – If you have any issues logging in, please contact the AIM membership team at or +44 (0) 203 771 0400.
4. Fill in the relevant forms to create an account.
5. Once the account is created, the submission fees will be removed.

BBC Music is reprising its role as the Awards’ media partner with BBC Music Introducing supporting the One to Watch category, which puts the spotlight on exceptional and fast-rising talent. Other category sponsors for this year’s edition include Amazon Music (Innovator Award), Merlin (Outstanding Contribution to Music), PPL (PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist), YouTube Music (UK Independent Breakthrough), Spotify (Best Independent Album) and MCPS (Indie Champion).

Following its inaugural night at the Roundhouse in 2019, complete with a secret show from AJ Tracey and public performances by Johnny Marr, Georgia and Ms Banks, the 10th Anniversary celebrations will be even bigger, with soon-to-be announced sets from independent music’s brightest stars and most established icons.

Commenting on the 2020 edition of the Awards, AIM CEO Paul Pacifico said “This year is the AIM Awards’ 10th Anniversary and there is much to celebrate – AIM is in great shape and so is the UK’s independent music community at large, which continues to foster such amazing talent on both the creative and commercial sides of the industry. Our return to the Roundhouse enables us to mark  this milestone in style while giving the industry’s brightest and best the platform they deserve.”

Throughout its 10-year history, the AIM Independent Music Awards have highlighted exceptional talent from an exciting, diverse range of artists, labels and executives. 2019 saw the likes of Dave and IDLES win big, alongside Pioneer Johnny Marr, International Breakthrough winner Jade Bird and Partisan Records, who picked up Best Independent Label. In previous years, Adele, Björk, Stormzy, The Prodigy, Ninja Tune and Beggars Group’s Martin Mills have all been honoured across the Awards’ now 17 categories.

Submissions are open to AIM members and non-members.

2020 Award Categories
Best Independent Label
International Breakthrough
Innovator Award (in association with Amazon Music)
Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)
PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
Best Independent Video
UK Independent Breakthrough (in association with YouTube Music)
Best Creative Packaging
Best Live Act
Best Independent Album (in association with Spotify)
Indie Champion (in association with MCPS)
One to Watch (in association with BBC Music Introducing)
Best Independent Track
Best Independent Remix
Pioneer Award
Best Small Label
Best [Difficult] Second Album