21 July 2022
First wave of nominees announced for AIM Independent Music Awards 2022

The first wave of nominees for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards 2022 are revealed!

This year’s ceremony will be returning as an in-person event on Wednesday 28th September at the iconic Roundhouse in Camden, followed by a live show open to public.


All eyes are set on the star-studded nominees list which includes a strong mix of double-nominees, including indie-sensations Wet Leg, rock duo Nova Twins, rapper Knucks, soul outfit Children of Zeus, rising Scot TAAHLIAH, rapper Jeshi, indie-pop singer Nilüfer Yanya, and previous AIM Award winners, Dave & FKA Twigs.

Brand new category, Best Independent EP/Mixtape boasts a tantalising list of artists, including Joy Orbison, Surya Sen, Wesley Joseph and more all up for awards this year. After rising through the musical ranks, the likes of Barry Can’t Swim, Jeshi, Léa Sen, Nia Archives and TAAHLIAH receive nods for One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing, which spotlights future stars. Riding on the wave of a hugely successful year, Children of Zeus, Warmduscher, Knucks, Nova Twins, and Wet Leg will vie for UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music.

After garnering critical acclaim for their releases, Black Country, New Road, Jana Rush, Nilüfer Yanya, Ross From Friends, and Tirzah are all nominated for Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music, while the Best Independent Remix nominees breathe new life into fantastic tracks, including ATO, FLOHIO‘no caroline remix’, Erika de Casier ‘Polite (Mura Masa Remix)’, Ibeyi‘Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix)‘, MF DOOM – ‘Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix)’, Shygirl – BDE (feat. Kaydy Cain) [Florentino Remix]. Also highlighting talent reaching across the globe, International Breakthrough in association with Deezer will see Australian rockers Amyl & the Sniffers, rapper Blxst, London eight-piece KOKOROKO, Tuareg songwriter Mdou Moctar and Gen-Z favourite Mitski battle it out for the trophy.

Best Independent Track in association with Meta is a diverse who’s who of the musical landscape, as brilliant songs by Anz, Overmono, Knucks, Wu-Lu and more are highlighted, with Best Independent Album in association with Spotify chalking up the likes of Boj, Cleo Sol, Emma-Jean Thackray, Mustafa and SAULT as nominees for their latest LPs. The latter sent waves through the music industry when the mysterious collective revealed Nine would only be available to stream for 99 days before disappearing, while Mustafa laid down a marker with When Smoke Rises, his first record as a solo artist.

Returning as the most anticipated night in the independent music calendar, the AIM Independent Music Awards will showcase and celebrate the incredible talent and resilience of the community, as well as saluting the most exciting future stars.



The much-coveted ‘Best Live Performer’ decision will once again be put in the hands of the fans, allowing public voting is NOW OPEN 

Who do you want to see pick up this award? Head HERE to view the shortlist and cast your vote!

Voting closes at 2pm on Thursday 18th August.




Join nominees, winners and other industry movers and shakers right in the middle of the action as we celebrate the past year of incredible creative and professional talent in the independent community. The event starts at 3pm and you should dress to impress! Please note that tickets are highly limited and, at amazing value for money, we’re expecting to sell out. We recommend purchasing as soon as possible to avoid disappointment. AIM Rightsholder and Distributor members and Friends of AIM – get in touch about your priority access and exclusive discounts.


Every 12-seat table or individual seat includes:

·         VIP red carpet welcome

·         Ceremony seating amongst the nominees and winners

·         Networking drinks receptions

·         Delicious 3-course dinner

·         Entry to the official After Party with the most exciting DJs of the moment

·         Access to the AIM Awards Live Show featuring performances from some of the most influential artists in the independent community





You don’t need to attend the Ceremony to celebrate the successes of our sector. The evening will also include a live show open to the public, performers and ticket info to be revealed very soon, keep your eyes peeled! 👀

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news and updates!



UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

Children of Zeus (First Word Records)

Warmduscher (Bella Union)

Knucks (No Days Off)

Nova Twins (Marshall Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)


International Breakthrough in association with Deezer

Amyl & the Sniffers (Rough Trade Records)

Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)

Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)

Mitski (Dead Oceans)


Best Independent Track in association with Meta

Anz – ‘You Could Be’ (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)

Dave – ‘Starlight’ (Neighbourhood Recordings)

FKA twigs – ‘tears in the club’ ft. the weeknd (YOUNG)

Jeshi – ‘Protein’ feat. Obongjayar (Because Music)

Knucks, SL – ‘Nice & Good’ (No Days Off)

Nova Twins – ‘Antagonist’ (Marshall Records)

Overmono – ‘So U Kno’ (Poly Kicks/XL Recordings)

Wet Leg – ‘Chaise Longue’ (Domino Recording Company)

Wu-Lu – ‘Broken Homes’ (Warp Records)

Yves Tumor – ‘Jackie’ (Warp Records)


Best Independent EP/Mixtape


Joy Orbison – ‘still slipping vol.1’ (XL Recordings)

Surya Sen – ‘At What Cost?’ (Skint Records)

TAAHLIAH – ‘Angelica’ (untitled (recs))



Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Boj – ‘Gbagada Express’ (Moves Recordings)

Children Of Zeus – ‘Balance’ (First Word Records)

Cleo Sol  – ‘Mother’ (Forever Living Originals)

Dave – ‘We’re All Alone In This Together’ (Neighbourhood Recordings)

Dave Okumu – ‘Knopperz’ (Neighbourhood Recordings)

Emma-Jean Thackray – ‘Yellow’ (Movementt)

Mustafa – ‘When Smoke Rises’ (Young)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’ (ATO Records)

SAULT – ‘NINE’ (Forever Living Originals)

Walt Disco – ‘Unlearning’ (Lucky Number)


Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music

Black Country, New Road  – ‘Ants From Up There’ (Ninja Tune)

Jana Rush – ‘Painful Enlightenment’ (Planet Mu Records)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’ (ATO Records)

Ross From Friends – ‘Tread’ (Brainfeeder)

Tirzah – ‘Colourgrade’ (Domino Recording Company)


Best Independent Remix

ATO – ‘no caroline remix’ (FLOHIO) (MCMXCV)

Erika de Casier – ‘Polite (Mura Masa Remix)’ (4AD)

Ibeyi – ‘Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix)’ (XL Recordings)

MF DOOM – ‘Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix)’ (Lex Records)

Shygirl – BDE (feat. Kaydy Cain) [Florentino Remix] (Because Music)


One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing

Barry Can’t Swim (Technicolour / Ninja Tune)

Jeshi (Because Music)

Léa Sen (Partisan Records)

Nia Archives (HIJINXX)

TAAHLIAH (untitled (recs))