15 May 2024
AIM Independent Music Awards 2024 Submissions NOW Open!

The AIM Independent Music Awards return on 17th October for its fourth edition at London’s iconic Roundhouse. We are excited to announce that submissions for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards 2024 are now open! In 14 years, the event has established itself as the UK’s leading music tastemaker awards – recognising the best, brightest, most unique and diverse artists, labels, and entrepreneurs.

Submissions close at 23:59 on Wednesday 12th June.

The ‘One To Watch’ and ‘Best Boutique Label’ categories will celebrate the next big thing, while ‘Best Independent EP / Mixtape’ and ‘International Breakthrough’ will recognise current global smashes. ‘Best Independent Label’, ‘Best Creative Campaign’ and ‘Music Entrepreneur Of The Year’ will honour the teams behind the success, while ‘Diversity Champion’ and ‘Independent Music Champion’ will commend those who go above and beyond.

‘One To Watch’, ‘Independent Music Champion’, ‘Diversity Champion’ and ‘Music Entrepreneur of the Year’ categories are totally free to enter. AIM’s Rightsholder and Distributor members can enter all categories free of charge.

Last year’s highlights included Björk winning the public-voted ‘Best Live Performer’ award, delivering a heartfelt speech on independence whilst praising her longtime label One Little Independent in the artist’s first awards appearance in over a decade. ‘Best Independent Album’ was picked up by British Rap artist Avelino (Oddchild Music / More Music Records) for ‘God Save The Streets’, followed by his breathtaking live performance looking back at 50 years of hip hop. ‘Peng Black Girls’ musician ENNY(F.A.M.M. Ent) won ‘Best Independent EP/Mixtape’, meanwhile Hospital Records picked up ‘Best Independent Label’ celebrating three decades at the vanguard of drum and bass.

Stormzy won the inaugural ‘Diversity Champion’ award in 2022 for his ongoing work to level the playing field in the music industry and inspiring wider society through his charity #Merky Foundation and #Merky Books, including the Stormzy Scholarship. Black Lives in Music CEO’s Charisse Beaumont was recognised last year for her work moving the needle for Black creators and industry professionals.

As well as recognising established successes, the AIM Independent Music Awards has continuously proven itself as the UK’s tastemaker event by acknowleding stars well before mainstream success. Winners Arlo Parks, AJ Tracey, Dave, IDLES, Little Simz, Christine and The Queens, Jorja Smith, Stormzy, and more have gone on to greater recognition, including some winning accolades at the Ivors, Mercurys, MOBOs, BRITs or GRAMMYs.

“We’re delighted to bring the AIM Independent Music Awards back to a seminal music venue to once again celebrate & champion UK independent music’s innovative and diverse talent. We’re incredibly honoured to give emerging and established independent superstars a platform, as well as shine a light on the pioneering minds driving the whole industry forward. With the free-to-submit and publicly voted categories, everyone can be a part of the AIM Independent Music Awards”.

Gee Davy – AIM Interim CEO

AIM works hard to ensure widespread inclusion each year, but navigating a busy industry calendar with a popular venue as host means clashes are sometimes unavoidable. AIM recognises that there may be some in faith and music communities it has not been able to accommodate in 2024, and apologises for any disappointment or unintended offence.

The AIM Independent Music Awards sits within AIM’s calendar of events, which includes its annual conferences AIM Connected, AIM Sync and Future Independents as well as networking, education and commercially focused events, designed to celebrate, support and connect the UK’s independent music community.


All 14 categories are free to enter for AIM Rightsholder and Distributor members:

  • UK Independent Breakthrough
  • Best Independent Track
  • Best Boutique Label
  • Best Independent Label
  • Best Independent EP/ Mixtape
  • Best Independent Album
  • Best Independent Remix
  • One To Watch (Free to enter for everyone)
  • Diversity Champion (Free to enter for everyone)
  • Independent Music Champion (Free to enter for everyone)
  • Best Independent Video
  • Best Creative Campaign
  • Best Live Performer
  • Music Entrepreneur of the Year

The following three categories will return for 2024 but as always, are not open for submissions:

  • Outstanding Contribution to Music
  • Innovator Awards
  • PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist